Posted on

My poetry skills are lacking, which is why I have friends

by explodingdog via tumblr

I could never write poetry.  My friend Jeremy sent me this poem.

“Coffee”

I do not think I could survive
Without my daily cup
Of Coffee’s sweet and bitter call
Most needed to wake up.
Without my fix, I’m in a haze;
I can’t respond or ask
The simplest query, however small,
Looms a frightening task.
But when my lips Caffeine kisses
To satiate the lust,
Mind and body bend to her spell
Surely as all I trust.
O Elixir of Morning Consciousness!
Was Europe ever awake —
Before the Turks shared the secret
Of how this drink to make?

About BREWPRINTS

I am a New Yorker who enjoys drinking coffee and taking my time doing it.

One response to “My poetry skills are lacking, which is why I have friends

  1. Wow. I am in love with your blog. Such a coffee addict myself!!! Loving the poem haha.

Leave a Reply

